RSS

Peanut Butter and Bacon: The MTC at Christmas

25 Dec

MERRY CHRISTMAS, WORLD!! We get a bonus email session today, so that’s why I’m here. This week has been crazy. We’re gonna meet 2 new investigators on Monday, Douglas and a mystery investigator. Douglas is the drunk brother of our previous investigator, Gloria. Me and my companion, Elder Edwards are PUMPED. Mostly because our Spanish is coming a long way and we feel loads more confident.

This morning we had Sacrament meeting. FOR 2 HOURS. WITH ELDER BEDNAR!!! Holla!!! It was pretty much the best. Super crizazy spiritual, about being truly converted unto Christ and His character. He told us that the epitome of the natural man is the Cookie Monster. Previously, his wife related a story in which her grandaughter found an Elmo costume before acting out the Nativity and instisted on wearing it, and hence she was Elmo the Angel. ‘What the irony?’ I said to myself as I sat in my nearly front-row bleacher seat and chortled. Then we closed the meeting with “I heard the Bells on Christmas Day” my absoLOOT favorite Christmas hymn ever. I was pretty much bawling. In a good way.

Which brings me to the next tidbit: the worst part about the MTC (in my opinion). I cry. EVERY. DAY. Just kidding. It’s the music. Not the singing every class period, no. The singing in the halls. Why? Because the first song that is sung in the showers to begin the day will be CONTINOUSLY HEARD in the halls throughtout the day. It wouldn’t be too bad if they were good songs, and complete songs. But the elderes decided that it would be an awesome Idea if they sang songs like Feliz Navidad–quite possibly the WORST Christmas song ever written (excepting Blue Christmas, of course… ick.)– and they all sang it every night at the top of their (mostly) out-of-tune voices. AY! It’s incredible how infuriating it can be. But, I figure if that’s the most irritating thing, I’m doing alright.

NEWS FROM THE DISTRICT: So the other day, the districtfolk were conversing and they said, “You have to be a district leader first in order to be a zone leader.” And I retorted, “No you don’t.” And they were all, “Yeah, you do, twit.” ( I added the “twit” to emphasize my point. B the w, Elder Lundberg is our district leader. Lo and behold, what happens on Friday? My companion and I are extended the call to be zone leaders after our current ones leave (Jan. 2nd or 3rd.). shaZAM! So that’s pretty cool, I guess.

Food still good; lunch today was Thanksgiving, take II, which was tasty and delightful, since my first Thanksgiving was lacking in these departments due to my fantastic wisdom teeth surgery 2 days prior =P Life is awesome, right? Anyways, I’m liking it here, but missing y’all and wishing that I could’ve been there on ACTUAL Christmas, though our mini family Christmas was quite lovely =) We had a district Chirstmas party-thing this morning for to open our presents together and SHOOT I just remembered that I forgot my camera. But this isn’t on the normal schedule, so I think I get a pass. But I discovered that my camera was dead when we got there, so I only have like 3 pictures… sadsies. Oh well. It was fun, but I felt bad for Hermana Jensen cuz she can’t be in the male residence halls… =( que triste. But she’s doing well despite this grand and terrible trial.

We’ve had 15, COUNT ‘EM! Fifteen different teachers in the past 10 days. Ridiculous. But understandable because Hermano Tidwell, our real teacher, and Hermana De Leon, our second teacher are both on Christmas Vacation with their fams. I feel bad for our teachers yesterday. And all those who have to work today and had to work yesterday in whatever job they may be occupied. And those who are not employed. Yikes. My heart goes out to you.

N ways, I’m pretty much out of time. I’m having a gay old time here at the MTC, so don’t worry about me. I miss you all and I’ll be back before you know it!!

With amor abounding,

Elder Pickett
P.S. The title: two delicious things that really don’t mix together–a symbol of the paradox of emotions I feel being away from family in the MTC.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 25, 2011 in general

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
