RSS

CONFERENCE: The Mormon ‘Holy Week[end]’

02 Apr

Wasn’t General Conference ah-MAZing?! Good gosh, do I love hearing the living prophet and apostles speak! (For anyone who is currently thinking, ‘no get. what do?’ check out lds.org. there should be a big thing that says “General Conference.” That’s what I’m talking about. Check it out. Guarantee you it’ll be worth your while.) I learned SO much! Definitely one of my most favorite Conferences. GAH, I miss it already. My trainer, E’ Gines, says that General Conference is better that Christmas on the mission. While I heard my most favorite talk given my first mission Christmas by Elder David A. Bednar (and hence was BOSS, I can still see why he feels that way.

Cool happening! We went to the office and ran into a few of the departing missionaries. A Sister stopped me and told me that she knew my Uncle Reed and Aunt Karen and their family! Super cool. (I can’t remember her name… Sister Barrows? B-something… But still cool!)

So, Conference is normally great, right? But this Conference was especially great. We had 2–count ’em– TWO baptisms yesterday! The first was Esmeralda, an 8 year old girl, whose parents aren’t members (yet), and the second was Hno. Ruben Ronquillo. My GOODness, what a baptism! I had the esteemed privilege of doing his baptism. It took me three tries (the first I messed up the Spanish; second, he didn’t go all the way under; third, I pushed him down and we got it right.) but it was still one of the coolest experiences of my life. Despite the embarrassment, I’m glad the ordinance was done properly. Almost everyone was crying. It was beautiful. Especially his little 9 year-old daughter, Sarah. So cute!

Good times. I’m looking forward to more experiences like that as my mission progresses. Meanwhile, I’m wiggin out cuz I’ve been out almost 4 months. That’s a sixth of my mission. And it has positively FLOWN by. Yikes. I wish I had more time. But at the same time, I can see that having a finite, set time limit, with a rapidly approaching end date has helped me see what changes I need to make and the urgency with which I need to make them. I love the mission. I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I love you all dearly.

Elder Pickett

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 2, 2012 in general

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
