RSS

Picture Time (Part II)

24 Apr

Sorry, I didn’t have time to write last week!! But to make up for it, here are some pictures! I don’t know who qualifies for “Somewhat Disabled” parking, but I think pretty much everyone is at least a little disabled, one way or another. The baptism pictures are of Esme and Hermano Ronquillo, both of which were wonderful. Then there’s the temple picture, but I don’t know what the person taking the picture was doing… I suppose it’s a little bit more edgy being diagonal and all… Oh well. Click to make them bigger.

So this week, we’ve been listening to Marshall McDonald’s album, “This Is The Christ” while eating and chilling/getting ready for bed. It is fan TAStic!! There’s not a single song I don’t like on it. Oh, how marvellous! The album was a tribute to Karl Bloch, a painter who made 20-someodd pantings depicting the life of Christ. Each song is inspired by one of his works, and each song is awesome. Even ‘Amazing Grace.’ Usually I can’t stand that song… I couldn’t tell you why, I just don’t like it. But MAN, that stuff is powerful. I recommend looking in to it. Highly.

So the other day, Elder Gines said this: “I want somebody to just come up to us and say, ‘Hey, are you missionaries? I want to be baptized.” The next day, he and I were a little late getting out of the house for largely unavoidable reasons. Namely 2. But anyways, we said our going-out-of the-house prayer and asked to find people who were walking in darkness, looking for light. Then we left.
We were riding towards an investigator’s house when we almost got ran over by this big black SUV thing pulling out of a parking lot. The guy made weird motions for us to stop. We thought he was mad at us, but nevertheless, we stopped. A lady named Patricia came out and asked us the following question: “You speak spanish?” We replied yes, and then she asked (in spanish, obviously), “You’re Mormon missionaries, yes? I was visiting with them in Mexico, and my son was baptized. They gave me these pamhplets, and were teaching me, but I wasn’t baptized, but I want to be.” BOOM DIGGITY. Total answer to our prayers!! She came to church yesterday and met the ward missionaries and we’re going to see how prepared she is tonight! There were so many things that had to fall into place for us to be in that place at that precise moment, let alone all the things we don’t know about that led Patricia there. Mindblowing. Man, people are just lining up to enter the waters of baptism!! It’s marvellous. The Gospel is so true.

Since we’re on bike, we get shoutouts every once in while from pedestrians, passing cars, and anyone else who happens to be in the street. We get a whole host of things shouted at us, ranging from a very loud four letter word to a nice “God bless you guys!” The other day, in fact, we received this: “French countrymen, lend me your ears!” Yeah, I didn’t know what to do. So I just kept on riding. But with a slightly larger smile than before.

Elder PICkett

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 24, 2012 in general

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
