RSS

You Say Goodbye, And I Say Hello

19 Jun
You Say Goodbye, And I Say Hello

Well, Elder Gines is currently with President Becerra, either watching movies or receiving counsel. Or perhaps eating lunch. But he’ll be headed home to Highland tomorrow. Poor guy… He loves the mission so much. He didn’t want to leave it. It must be especially hard, seeing as he was in his last area for 10 months. I’ll miss him.

The farewell was awesome, and for many reasons. The Spirit was flooding in through the tears and goodbyes, and I just felt so lucky to be a missionary. And to still have time left, even though I only have a year and a half left. Even when you start your mission, you’re almost done. Yikes… I don’t want that day to come. Sorry, Family. You’ll just all have to move back to California or something. Mixed feelings about everything… But it really stressed to me the importance of making your time worthwhile, how great a privilege serving a mission is, and how little time you have to serve it. All of these things were intensified by seeing my Uncle Reed and Aunt Karen there. It was so cool! I was taken completely by surprise. They gave me a care package and we had a sweet chat afterwards. It was marvellous! But that’s not all, folks! I also happened to unexpectedly run into Todd Haskin (the older brother of my roommate at BYU) and his girlfriend, Nikki! That wasn’t planned by anyone though. Just a crazy random happenstance. All in all, it was a fantastic experience, one I believe I needed, and I learned a lot from it. I’ll have to pass on the legacy of those that went before me as I train my new companion this transfer. Oh, yeah, and I’m training this next transfer. WHOOO!! I’ll be sure to have pictures tomorrow. If you want, you could guess where he’s from, and make this kind of an interactive experience (even though I can’t read any comments hahaha). Feel free! This blog believes in freedom.

Well, I’ll be seeing you folks all real soon. I need to get back to work now, though. Stay strong and don’t stop believing.

Elder PICkett

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 19, 2012 in general

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “You Say Goodbye, And I Say Hello

Leave a Reply

 
