RSS

Fatherhood

25 Jun

Happy (super)Belated Father’s Day!!! So I totally meant to write about Father’s Day for the past two weeks, but it’s been crazy busy. I apologize.

Being a dad in the mission is different. Especially going almost directly from son to father. I understand why it’s generally a good idea to wait a little later in life to have kids. You can learn some crazy weird things on the mission… But yeah, this is a picture of Elder Bath, my trainee, and I! He’s cool and really funny. We have a good time together. From Mississippi, with the accent and everything (which is pretty contagious… I don’t mean to speak with a drawl. I don’t even want to. It kinda just happens.). He’s willing to work hard, and he’s obedient, which is very good. Now we’ve got to work on changing the “being willing to” into “having a desire to.” I don’t think it’ll be too hard. He’s an awesome elder. I’ll do my best to raise him right and make you proud, dad.

Speaking of fathers, they’re awesome. When a house lacks a strong father figure (more importantly, a worthy preisthood holder), there is a MASSive difference. The Spirit just cannot thrive as much. I’m grateful to have been raised in a house with such a father. I didn’t realize until recently how much of an impact Dad has made on me and the decisions that I’ve made. As I look at who I’ve been and who I am now, I can see in my past similarities to stories Dad has told me about himself. And I can see myself going down the road and heading towards being like him. Thank you for everything you’ve taught me, Dad. In seminary, in family home evening, in our little chats we had every so often the past couple years, and in your example. I’m doing my best out here to make sure you can be proud to tell people you’ve got a son on a mission, working hard and doing what’s right. I know I’m proud to call you my dad.

Just like my biological father has impacted all of my life, my mission dad, Elder Gines, has impacted my mission life significantly. I learned a lot from him about how to be a better missionary, as well as a better person. It surprised me how similar we were when we first met, but everything leads me back to knowing that President Becerra was definitely inspired to call Elder Gines to be my trainer. I’m trying to do my best to make him proud of me as well. I’ll keep him in the Arcadia mission by training Elder Bath the right way. I miss you, Elder. Also, I can’t find your flattened coins… Sorry.

And to conclude, I’d like to say CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! to my dear friend, Norienne! I’m so excited for you, and I know you’ll have a wonderful life! He looks like a solid companion. My happiness for you exceeds boundaries. That’s one lucky hombre. =)

With love to all,
Elder PICkett

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 25, 2012 in general

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
