RSS

Happy Birthday Mom! (And America, a few days ago)

10 Jul

Elder Gines was right. Holidays are pretty lame on the mission. The morning was pretty normal, I guess. Our whole day was stacked with appointments. But then, one by one, people kept realizing that they’d set up appointments for the 4th of July, so we had nothing much to do at night. We smelled a lot of sulphorous smoke and heard a lot of bangs. We visited some folks among the noise, smoke, and raving parties, but eventually we ended up eating the zone leader’s fries (we found them eating at a burger place in my area, and joined them).

But things are getting better within the tri-panionship. Mostly it’s me who has the problems to work out… But I’m improving. With a lot of help from up above as well as some good advice from a great friend =) But the situation has made me think about things a lot. Most nights I’ll be laying on the couch (which is my bed) just looking up at the ceiling, thinking about everything, asking God questions. I think He’s a little weary of me: one night, He told me just to go to sleep, that things will be better tomorrow. I think I’m getting to know Him better. But it’s very true that God has a sense of humor.

With only about 5 months left to live, things are getting a little heated down here. It seems like there are a lot of people worrying about the things they always should’ve been, which is good. But also, Satan’s no fool, and he’s convincing a lot of these people to cling tightly to the easiest way out. I’ve found in my missionary journey that a lot of people do nothing. Almost literally, they do nothing. Work and sleep comprise their lives completely, with occaisional breaks for eating. To compensate for a lack of a fulfilling life, they fill their precious spare time by breaking the Word of Wisdom and the law of chastity a lot. It seems like those are the favorites to break. But there are still rays of hope breaking through the darkness! Linda and her kids are doing splendidly, with the obvious occaisional roadblock. She’s come a long way, and I’m really proud of her. I’m meeting new people that the other Elders are teaching, who are super cool and I have high hopes for. It always takes me by surprise when I realize how totally awesome God is and how totally insignificant we are, yet how much He still cares. It blows my mind. Pay attention to what you’re saying when you pray, and it’ll blow your mind too.

I love you all, and I thank you for your support!

Elder PICkett

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 10, 2012 in general

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
