RSS

The End of an Era [12/31]

31 Dec
Well, we made lived through the end of the world, and things are more or less the same. BUT, it’s the end of another year, and now each of us have this opportunity to change a little bit for the better, and make resolutions, which is a wonderful tradition by the way. It’s a time where we’re all accustomed to making new goals, or resetting some goals we didn’t quite meet this year. But when you get right down to it, it’s essentially a tradition of repentance. Committing yourself to change a little bit, whether it be in fitness, in character, in dedication, in family life, etc. The only unfortunate part is the second or third week in January, when resolutions are forgotten and we fall back into our routines, and the atmosphere of the Holiday Spirit is largely forgotten. This year, let us think of our resolutions not merely as goals or resolutions, but as repentance. I hope that in doing so, our New Years’ repentance might stick a little bit longer and be of a lot more worth to each and every one of us.
 
In other news, talking to my family was lovely!! We went to Bishop Leiva’s house and hung out with him while the other missionaries skyped/called their families. Everyone there said I came out sad, but I didn’t notice it. I guess I miss my family more than I thought I did… I was so glad to see Chris there, doing well and looking better than ever! The only ones missing were Nathan and Katie, but they sent me a sweet Christmas package with lots of awesome inside, so I guess it’s alright. I miss you guys, though!!
 
In other other news, I’m going to the temple Wednesday!!!!!!! I’m so excited! Every month, zone leaders go to a meeting and we learn how to help our zones, and what counsel President Becerra has for the mission, and we bring it back to our zones and learn a bunch. But THIS month, we’re going to do it in the temple!! =D We have to wake up stinkin early, but it’s totally worth it! I love going to the temple, and I’m super grateful for the opportunity to go and do a session there again. How wonderful!!
 
My how, time flies… I love you all and haven’t forgotten about any of you!
 
Elder Pickett
 
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 31, 2012 in general

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
