RSS

The Covenant

07 Jan
Interesting week this week. Slow, but not without miracles and life-changing experiences. We went to the temple Wednesday morning, and I learned more that day than I think I’ve learned about the gospel my entire life. The importance of covenants was really stressed upon me. They’re a serious business, and not to be taken lightly. In a way, ignorance is bliss, but with the same token, knowledge is power and you cannot be saved in ignorance. While what Uncle Ben (Ben Parker, that is, not the rice guy) said may be true, I think it’s more true to say, “With great understanding comes great responsibility.” Knowledge would work, perhaps, but understanding is what really holds us accountable. And since power is more or less derived from knowledge and understanding and covenants (and here we see what the Marvel universe lacks), the original statement still holds true.
I feel I must include here a word of caution to certain of my dear friends: Be well prepared for what you commit to, specifically and especially as it pertains to the gospel. By this I mean not scriptural knowledge, nor the gift of tongues, nor anything of the sort. All those things are good, but you must have the mentality of ‘put your shoulder to the wheel and never look back.’ It’s great that younger folks can go on missions now, and I’m excited to see the great results and miracles that come from it. But serving a mission is not a decision to make in the excitement of the moment. It is the most trying thing I’ve ever done. I doubt that it won’t be the most rewarding thing if I can overcome the trials. Now, if you sincerely feel you should serve, and that this is your time, then by all means, serve with all your heart, might, mind, and strength. The Lord accepts nothing less. He has a plan for each of us, and it’s up to us if we want to follow that plan and end up happy, or make our own and meet a different fate. Know that I love you all, and I’m happy for your desires and willingness to sacrifice. Pray always that ye may come off conqueror, and be very careful to listen to the still, small voice that whispers the mysteries of God to you.
Be wise, oh what can I say more? ~Jacob.
Elder Pickett
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 7, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
