RSS

Number Nine

14 Jan
Transfers came!! Nothing much really happened in our zone. One of the sisters in another district left, her companion is training, our district leader just moved south a district, but still in our zone. The only difference in our ward was that we combined 2 areas, which means we lost 2 elders. Elder Mostert, the little stud, went to go be a zone leader in El Monte!!! And it’s only his 4th transfer! The youngest I’ve ever heard of. I was sad to see him leave our zone, but I’m stoked for him. My mission son, Elder Chandler is now my district leader as well! But we didn’t get any new missionaries in our ward. The sister visa-waiters are still with us.
And so begins the historic 5-week transfer! Because of the immense load of new missionaries coming into the field, this transfer has been cut short one week (meaning that all missionaries lose a week of their mission… =P). We’ll see the first batch of youngsters roll in at the end of this transfer, so they say. It’s a historic moment in church history, and I’m glad to be a part of it. I’ll just have to make up that lost week somehow.
I’ve been learning a lot lately. A lot about myself and how I want to become. Kinda like a mid-mission-life crisis haha. My dad has told me since the beginning of my mission to take the good habits my trainer left me and then just get better from there. I never realized how hard that’d be. We’ve been thinking lately about mission history and how the older missionaries remember the “Greats,” like Hendrickson and Christiansen and Ballantyne, etc. (some of whom I don’t know) and how we don’t really see many greats right now. We wondered what happened, if we’re just not as good as they were, if there was just a group of missionaries that had something we don’t, maybe we are the current Greats, or maybe we just all heard these legends that left out details, and now that we know all the missionaries’ stories and know the good and the bad… To be honest, we never really came to a conclusion. But we can definitely see the Greats-to-be, like Elder Mostert. Hopefully one day people will talk about me as one of the ancient greats, but I’ve gotta work hard enough to ge there first. Sure, it might seem a little selfish, but who doesn’t want to be remembered in a good light?
This week, the chapel was full. We even opened up the back and set up chairs! It was a great feeling, seeing so many people there at church. The past couple weeks have been pretty rough, and all of us have been working more with less-actives lately. After feeling like we’re not having much success, it was a sweet peace to see so many families come back to church after having been gone for so long, and feel once again the Spirit of the Lord in their lives. It was a phenomenal sacrament meeting, a wonderful spiritual experience.
Be well, make good choices, and always remember who you want to be!
Elder Pickett
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
