RSS

Back to the Future

09 Sep
So I’ve had the VERY odd experience of reading past emails I have sent as well as reviewing past journal entries. Thank GOODness there’s been a pretty blatant, noticeable change. It was partially hilarious, partially humbling, and partially saddening to look back on it all. Mostly hilarious, though, haha! I’ve been reading through it for a couple days now and I still haven’t gotten past El Monte yet! Soooo much has happened, and I can definitely see a major perspective change, old problems that are now strengths (Ether 12:26), and one thing that I’m not currently fighting, but I’m not sure if I’ve completely overcome it yet. But it’s been incredibly interesting to read all about past companions and opinions and how both of them have changed–some for the better, some for the worse. I’m excited to see what else I find in my own book of personal scripture (it ended up being a large plates thing, but it’s still cool. I’m REALLY grateful that Mormon didn’t put the large plates in the Book of Mormon though hahahahaa). I like looking back at things I did and thinking, ‘Shoo, I’m super glad I did that!’ Because it sure beats ‘I wish I had done that.’ I look forward to having more of the former experience and less of the latter as I continue my mortal experience.
Our ward mission leader is about our age, and says things like, “Life is good” all the time. Life really is good! Do you realize that? Man, I just can’t believe I don’t realize it all the time. Life is good, and it always will be good. This thought is really only-half formulated, so it might have some flaws, but right now, I am convinced that life really is always good, and it always has been. Even in the nasty, super sad moments, life is SOOO good. Also, my Momma shared a talk with me today that I absolutely loved, and I now sincerely can say that trials are great! Yeah, they suck, but they’re great! Mom, you have to share that with everyone, along with what you felt when you heard/read it. You’re so cool, Mom!
Just so you all know, I have the best parents ever. Hands down. The BEST.
I love you all!
Elder Pickett
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
